Tag: aflw u19 championships fixtures

Werribee and Sandringham to host AFLW U19 Championships

AVALON Airport Oval and Trevor Barker Oval will play host to the 2021 AFL Women’s Under 19 Championships next week, after the two grounds were picked as the venues for the rescheduled championships.

After having a couple of lead-up matches with South Australia accounting for Western Australia by a goal in a thriller, and Vic Country too good for Vic Metro, the teams all prepare for their next challenges. Originally scheduled to be held at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast, the COVID-19 scare last week meant the AFL had to reschedule to ensure the championships were not under a cloud after missing entirely due to the same pandemic last year.

Instead it will take a different look in 2021 with Queensland not attending the first leg of the championships, and will instead play the Victorian sides in May. Starting on Monday, South Australia will take on Vic Country, and Western Australia will face the Allies, at Avalon Airport Oval in Werribee. Those games will kick off from 10am and 12.30pm respectively. The Woomeras and Medleys are also anticipated to clash throughout the championships in a show of the terrific Indigenous and international talent running around in the junior pathways.

Next Thursday, April 15, Vic Metro enters the fray again and will take on Western Australia from 10am, with the Allies and South Australia locking horns from 12.15. Both games will be played at Sandringham’s Trevor Barker Oval, where Country defeated Metro last week. The Vic Country and Queensland match on May 23, and the Queensland and Vic Metro match on May 29, are yet to have formalised venues.


Monday, April 12: Avalon Airport Oval

South Australia vs. Vic Country @ 10am
Western Australia vs. Allies @ 12.30pm

Thursday, April 15: Trevor Barker Oval

Vic Metro vs. Western Australia @ 10am
Allies vs. South Australia @ 12.15pm

2021 AFL Women’s Under 19 Championships fixture announced

AFTER some cross-state matches between the Northern Academies, and the introduction of Tasmania Devils and the Academies to the NAB League Girls competition – albeit the Queensland teams being disallowed to fly down – the 2021 AFL Women’s Under 19 Championships will kick-off on Sunday, with two matches as part of Round 1 over the next week. The six sides then head up to the Gold Coast where the new format will see them have two matchdays (previously three) with triple-headers on both days at Metricon Stadium.

Prior to that, South Australia will host Western Australia next Sunday at Flinders University Stadium, while Vic Country and Vic Metro go head-to-head at Trevor Barker Oval. Draft Central will be in attendance at both matches to keep you updated throughout the games.

The huge week on the Gold Coast will see Western Australia take on both Victorian sides in a massive three rounds of action, whilst host nation Queensland will face South Australia and Vic Metro, as the Allies meet Vic Country and South Australia. The biggest change to the championships is the fact South Australia will now standalone, after teaming up with Northern Territory in past years as the Central Allies. The Eastern Allies – NSW/ACT and Tasmania – will now be known as the Allies with Northern Territory joining them as the amalgamated team.

At this stage, South Australia, Western Australia and Queensland have all announced their AFL Women’s Under-19 Championships squads, with the Allies and Victorian sides expected to confirm their final squads soon.

Over the next couple of weeks, Draft Central will be providing plenty of content in the lead-up to, during and post the championships, so be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel.


South Australia vs. Western Australia
Sunday, March 28, 1pm
Flinders University Stadium

Vic Country vs. Vic Metro
Friday, April 2, 12pm
Trevor Barker Oval

ROUND 2: Monday April 12 @ Metricon Stadium

10am: Queensland vs. South Australia
12.15pm: Western Australia vs. Vic Metro
4.45pm: Allies vs. Vic Country

ROUND 3: Thursday, April 15 @ Metricon Stadium

9.45am: Vic Country vs. Western Australia
12.00pm: South Australia vs. Allies
2.15pm: Queensland vs. Vic Metro