Seventh heaven for Dragons as AFL Women’s Draft Combine list announced

EIGHTY two AFL Women’s Draft hopefuls will be able to test themselves at their respective state’s 2020 NAB AFL Women’s Draft Combine after the AFL announced the invite list today.

Victoria has 43 players that have been nominated to test by the clubs, with the majority of draft picks in the state (eight teams) a key reason for that. Queensland (13 players) and Western Australia (12) are next highest as the two-team states. Then comes NSW-ACT (five), South Australia (four) and Northern Territory (four). Charlie Vandenberg is the sole representative from the Apple Isle.

In terms of individual clubs, Sandringham Dragons leads the way with seven nominations, followed by Northern Knights and Swan Districts (five). Dandenong Stingrays, Geelong Falcons, Gippsland Power, Greater Western Victoria (GWV) Rebels and Oakleigh Chargers are next with four apiece. Among those nominated are touted high picks, Ellie McKenzie and Tyanna Smith, whilst the likes of Teah Charlton, Zimmorlei Farquharson and Sarah Verrier are those considered high up in their respective states.

In running parallel with the boys’ combines, Tasmania will be the first state to host the combine on September 21, followed by NSW/ACT on September 29, before South Australia and Western Australia will run theirs a day later. The northern states – Queensland and Northern Territory will run their testing on the first Saturday in October (October 3), with Victoria yet to set a date depending on the State Government regulations.

The AFL Womens’ Draft will be run virtually via web conference, on Tuesday, October 6.

NAB AFLW Draft Combine list 

Western Australia [12]
Abbey Dowrick (Subiaco)
Brianna Hyde (Swan Districts)
Ella Smith (Claremont)
Isabella Lewis (Claremont)
Jessica Low (Claremont)
Maggie MacLachlan (Subiaco)
Mikayla Hyde (Swan Districts)
Mikayla Morrison (East Perth/Swan Districts)
Roisin Walsh (East Fremantle)
Sarah Verrier (Peel Thunder)
Sarah Wielstra (Swan Districts)
Shanae Davison (Swan Districts)

South Australia [4]
Amber Ward (North Adelaide)
Ashleigh Woodland (North Adelaide)
Indy Tahau (South Adelaide)
Teah Charlton (South Adelaide)

Abby Favell (Murray Bushrangers)
Emily Pease (Belconnen Magpies)
Jayde Hamilton (Queanbeyan Tigers)
Kiara Beesley (Southern Power)
Tarni Evans (Queanbeyan Tigers)

Queensland [13]
Annise Bradfield (Southport)
Beth Pinchin (Coolangatta)
Brooke Spence (Coorparoo)
Chloe Gregory (Maroochydore)
Christine Okesene (Yeronga)
Courtney Bromage (Yeronga)
Daisy D’Arcy (Hermit Park)
Ebony Peterson (Coolangatta)
Laura Blue (Coorparoo)
Lucy Single (Bond University)
Madison Goodwin (Yeronga)
Maddison Levi (Bond University)
Zimmorlei Farquharson (Calamvale/Yeronga)

Northern Territory [4]
Janet Baird (Palmerston)
Mattea Breed (Southern Districts/Norwood)
Freda Puruntatameri (Palmerston/Calder Cannons)
Stephan Williams (Darwin Buffaloes/Geelong Falcons)

Tasmania [1]
Charlie Vandenberg (Wynyard)

Victoria [43]
Abbey Jordan (Dandenong Stingrays)
Abbi Moloney (Sandringham Dragons)
Alana Barba (Essendon VFL)
Alice Astbury (GWV Rebels)
Alice Burke (Sandringham Dragons)
Alice O’Loughlin (Oakleigh Chargers)
Alyssa Bannan (Northern Knights)
Amber Micallef (Oakleigh Chargers)
Amelia Velardo (Western Jets)
Annabel Strahan (Bendigo Pioneers)
Ashleigh Snow (Northern Knights)
Brooke Hards (Bendigo Pioneers)
Carly Remmos (Geelong Falcons)
Daisy Walker (Sandringham Dragons)
Darcy Moloney (Geelong Falcons)
Eliza McNamara (Sandringham Dragons)
Ellie McKenzie (Northern Knights)
Georgia Nanscawen (Essendon)
Grace McRae (Gippsland Power)
Isabella Eddey (Sandringham Dragons)
Isabella Simmons (GWV Rebels)
Isabelle Pritchard (Western Jets)
Jemma Finning (Bendigo Pioneers)
Jessica Fitzgerald (Northern Knights)
Jessica Matin (Dandenong Stingrays)
Joanna Lin (Oakleigh Chargers)
Laura Gardiner (Geelong Falcons)
Luka Lesosky-Hay (Richmond VFLW)
Maeve Chaplin (Northern Knights)
Maggie Caris (GWV Rebels)
Megan Fitzsimon (Gippsland Power)
Mietta Kendall (Eastern Ranges)
Mimi Hill (Oakleigh Chargers)
Nikia Webber (Gippsland Power)
Olivia Barber (Murray Bushrangers)
Olivia Meagher (Eastern Ranges)
Renee Saulitis (GWV Rebels)
Sarah Hartwig (Sandringham Dragons)
Shanara Notman (Gippsland Power)
Tarni Brown (Eastern Ranges)
Tyanna Smith (Dandenong Stingrays)
Winnie Laing (Sandringham Dragons)
Zoe Hill (Dandenong Stingrays)

One comment

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *