Dragons, Falcons lead the way as AFL announces 2020 Draft Combine list

NINETY six AFL Draft hopefuls will test themselves in their respective states over the next couple of months with the 2020 NAB AFL Draft Combine List released by the AFL today. Of the 95 players, those who played in either the Under 17s All-Stars game on Grand Final Day last year, or representing Australia against New Zealand, have also been included. The remaining players were formed after all 18 AFL clubs were asked to nominated 15 players outside the automatic entries, with those who received four or more club nominations invited to test.

Of the 96 players nominated, Vic Metro leads the way with 25, ahead of Vic Country (22) and South Australia (20). Western Australia is next with 12, followed by Queensland (six), New South Wales (four), Tasmania (four) and Northern Territory (three). For those in the Northern Territory – Joel Jeffrey and Brodie Lake as well as Queenslanders Alex Davies and Max Pescud – the Gold Coast Suns can take them outside the AFL Draft. Among others to be included are father-son prospects, Maurice Rioli Jnr (Richmond), Luke Edwards (Adelaide) and Taj Schofield (Port Adelaide), as well as a host of highly touted Next-Generation Academy members.

In terms of club representation, the Sandringham Dragons and Geelong Falcons have the most nominations with eight apiece, one ahead of Oakleigh Chargers (seven). The next highest are a number of clubs with four players testing, including Calder Cannons, Northern Knights, Murray Bushrangers, Glenelg, South Adelaide and Woodville-West Torrens. Four Gold Coast and Brisbane Academy players are also testing, with two Sydney and one GIANTS Academy players testing.

Tasmania will be the first state to hold its Draft Combine, starting on September 21. Following them, South Australia and Western Australia will test on September 30, with Northern Territory and Queensland to test on October 3. New South Wales will have a later testing date on October 25. Victoria is yet to announce combine dates, which will be dependent on the State Government regulations.

2020 NAB AFL Draft Combine list

NSW [4]
Braeden Campbell (Sydney Academy)
Charlie Byrne (Murray Bushrangers)
Errol Gulden (Sydney Academy)
Joshua Green (GWS Academy)

Northern Territory [3]
Joel Jeffrey (Wanderers/Gold Coast Academy)
Maurice Rioli jnr (Oakleigh Chargers)
Brodie Lake (Southern Districts/Central District (SA)/Gold Coast Academy)

Queensland [6]
Alex Davies (Gold Coast Academy)
Blake Coleman (Brisbane Academy)
Carter Michael (Brisbane Academy)
Jack Briskey (Brisbane Academy)
Max Pescud (Gold Coast Academy)
Saxon Crozier (Brisbane Academy)

South Australia [20]
Brayden Cook (South Adelaide)
Caleb Poulter (Woodville West Torrens)
Corey Durdin (Central District)
Henry Smith (Woodville West Torrens)
James Borlase (Sturt)
Jye Sinderberry (West Adelaide)
Kaine Baldwin (Glenelg)
Lachlan Jones (Woodville West Torrens)
Luke Edwards (Glenelg)
Luke Pedlar (Glenelg)
Malachy Carruthers (Sturt)
Mitchell Duval (West Adelaide)
Phoenix Spicer (South Adelaide)
Riley Thilthorpe (West Adelaide)
Taj Schofield (Woodville West Torrens)
Tariek Newchurch (North Adelaide)
Tom Powell (Sturt)
Tom Highmore (South Adelaide)
Xavier Robins (Glenelg)
Zac Dumesny (South Adelaide)

Tasmania [4]
Jackson Callow (North Launceston)
Oliver Davis (Clarence)
Patrick Walker (North Hobart)
Sam Collins (North Hobart)

Vic Country [21]
Blake Reid (Geelong Falcons)
Cameron Fleeton (Geelong Falcons)
Charlie Ham (Geelong Falcons)
Charlie Lazzaro (Geelong Falcons)
Clayton Gay (Dandenong Stingrays)
Elijah Hollands (Murray Bushrangers)
Harry Sharp (Greater Western Victoria Rebels)
Henry Walsh (Geelong Falcons)
Jack Ginnivan (Bendigo Pioneers)
Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Oakleigh Chargers)
Josh Treacy (Bendigo Pioneers)
Nick Stevens (Greater Western Victoria Rebels)
Noah Gribble (Geelong Falcons)
Oliver Henry (Geelong Falcons)
Ryan Angwin (Gippsland Power)
Sam Berry (Gippsland Power)
Seamus Mitchell (Bendigo Pioneers)
Tanner Bruhn (Geelong Falcons)
Will Bravo (Dandenong Stingrays)
Zach Reid (Gippsland Power)
Zavier Maher (Murray Bushrangers)
Dominic Bedendo (Murray Bushrangers)

Vic Metro [25]
Lachlan Carrigan (Sandringham Dragons)
Archie Perkins (Sandringham Dragons)
Bailey Laurie (Oakleigh Chargers)
Campbell Edwardes (Calder Cannons)
Cody Brand (Calder Cannons)
Connor Downie (Eastern Ranges)
Conor Stone (Oakleigh Chargers)
Corey Preston (Eastern Ranges)
Eddie Ford (Western Jets)
Ewan Macpherson (Northern Knights)
Finlay Macrae (Oakleigh Chargers)
Fraser Rosman (Sandringham Dragons)
Jake Bowey (Sandringham Dragons)
Josh Eyre (Calder Cannons)
Joshua Clarke (Eastern Ranges)
Liam McMahon (Northern Knights)
Liam Kolar (Northern Knights)
Luke Cleary (Sandringham Dragons)
Matt Allison (Calder Cannons)
Max Heath (Sandringham Dragons)
Max Holmes (Sandringham Dragons)
Nikolas Cox (Northern Knights)
Ollie Lord (Sandringham Dragons)
Reef McInnes (Oakleigh Chargers)
Will Phillips (Oakleigh Chargers)

Western Australia [12]
Blake Morris (Subiaco)
Brandon Walker (East Fremantle)
Denver Grainger-Barras (Swan Districts)
Heath Chapman (West Perth)
Jack Carroll (East Fremantle)
Joel Western (Claremont)
Kalin Lane (Claremont)
Logan McDonald (Perth)
Nathan O’Driscoll (Perth)
Shannon Neale (South Fremantle)
Zane Trew (Swan Districts)
Isaiah Winder (Peel Thunder)