AFL Women’s Draft Order announced as Eagles, Tigers gain extra pick

TWO of last year’s AFL Women’s expansion sides have been handed an additional end of first round draft pick that must be traded in a bid to try and bring an additional experienced player to the sides in an announcement by the AFL today that also included the 2020 AFL Women’s Draft Order. Richmond and West Coast both finished on the bottom of their respective pools, and have earned picks 15 and 16 from the AFL, which “must be on-traded to bring in ready-made talent”. Additionally, the message said the pick for each side “can be combined with other selections and/or players, however, cannot be used in a scenario that brings another selection back to the club”.

The two selections come on the back of the teams gaining the first and second selections in the AFL Women’s Draft. Past premiers, Western Bulldogs and Adelaide, and Geelong have rounded out the top five selections. Fellow expansion sides from last year, St Kilda and Gold Coast picked up selections six and seven, with the Suns followed by the three other sides knocked out in the AFL Women’s Finals Series – Brisbane, GWS and Collingwood – completing the top 10. Whilst a premier was never decided, the unbeaten Fremantle will be the last team to select a first player in the first round prior to the Trade Period, with North Melbourne, Carlton and Melbourne making up the other selections.

The Signing and Trade Period kicks off next Monday, August 3 with clubs permitted to sign up to 27 players for the 2021 season, including rookie players. Eligible rookie players are those who have not played for an Australian-based Australian rules football side in the past three years.

Key dates for the 2020 AFLW Sign and Trade Period:

Monday August 3
AFLW Sign & Trade Period commences (12pm)

Wednesday August 12
Trade period closes (2pm) AFLW List Lodgement #1 (4pm)

Monday August 17
Re-signing and Restricted Free Agent period closes (2pm) AFLW List Lodgement #2 (4pm)

Friday August 21
Delisted Free Agent period closes (2pm) AFLW List Lodgement 3 (4pm)
AFLW Draft order confirmed


1 Richmond
2 West Coast Eagles
3 Western Bulldogs
4 Adelaide Crows
5 Geelong Cats
6 St Kilda
7 Gold Coast SUNS
8 Brisbane Lions
10 Collingwood
11 Melbourne
12 Carlton
13 North Melbourne
14 Fremantle
15 Richmond
16 West Coast Eagles

17 Richmond
18 West Coast Eagles
19 Western Bulldogs
20 Adelaide Crows
21 Geelong Cats
22 St Kilda
23 Gold Coast SUNS
24 Brisbane Lions
26 Collingwood
27 Melbourne
28 Carlton
29 North Melbourne
30 Fremantle

31 Richmond
32 West Coast Eagles
33 Western Bulldogs
34 Adelaide Crows
35 Geelong Cats
36 St Kilda
37 Gold Coast SUNS
38 Brisbane Lions
40 Collingwood
41 Melbourne
42 Carlton
43 North Melbourne
44 Fremantle

Additional selections will be added through the list lodgement process.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *