Vic Country Under 18s squad finalised

DANDENONG Stingrays’ hot start to the TAC Cup season has got even better with twelve Stingrays in the finalised Vic Country squad for the upcoming National Under 18 Championships. First round talents Bailey Williams, Riley Bowman and Mitch Riordan are all in the side, as is the speedy Zac Foot and Jai Nanscawen and top five bottom-age prospect Hayden Young.
Geelong Falcons have eight players in the final 42-man squad, meaning almost half of the players in Vic Country are Stingrays or Falcons. Gippsland Power has a remarkable three bottom-agers and one over-ager in the side from seven representatives, while Murray Bushrangers have five. Greater Western Victoria (GWV) Rebels and Bendigo Pioneers have three nominees each.
Ones to watch include Geelong duo Sam Walsh and Ned McHenry who form a formidable midfield combination with Riordan, while Gippsland captain Xavier Duursma and Bendigo talent Jye Caldwell are among others to keep an eye on. Thomas Berry could be one to watch if he gets to full fitness, while Irving Mosquito and Zane Barzen are others who create something out of nothing up forward. Vic Country kicks off its championships with a match on June 9 against the Allies, followed by tames against South Australia, Vic Metro and Western Australia across June.
Vic Country’s National Under 18 Championships fixture:
Rd 1 vs Allies, Saturday June 9, 1.10pm
Rd 2 vs South Australia, Sunday June 17, 11am, Thebarton Oval
Rd 3 vs Vic Metro, Saturday June 24, 12pm, MCG
Rd 4 vs Western Australia, Friday June 29, 4.40pm, GMHBA Stadium
Jye Caldwell 28/09/2000 184 78 Bendigo Pioneers Golden Square/Geelong Grammar
Zane Keighran 19/10/2000 182 79 Bendigo Pioneers Golden Square/Bendigo Senior Secondary
Brodie Kemp 1/05/2001 193 76 Bendigo Pioneers Echuca/Geelong Grammar
William Hamill 17/11/2000 185 70 Dandenong Stingrays Dromana Senior FC/Padua College
Toby Bedford 27/05/2000 176 65 Dandenong Stingrays Rosebud Senior FC/Melbourne Grammar
Jai Taylor 3/02/2000 187 71 Dandenong Stingrays Red Hill Senior FC
Zac Foot 24/12/2000 180 71 Dandenong Stingrays Langwarrin Senior FC/Elisabeth Murdoch College
Jake Frawley 3/08/1999 187 81 Dandenong Stingrays Pearcedale Senior FC
Hayden Young 11/04/2001 186 79 Dandenong Stingrays Somerville Junior FC/Mornington SC
Mitchell Riordan 25/01/2000 186 79 Dandenong Stingrays Beaconsfield Senior FC/Haileybury College
Sam Fletcher 27/01/2000 187 79 Dandenong Stingrays Red Hill Senior FC
Jai Nanscawen 31/03/2000 184 73 Dandenong Stingrays Rosebud Senior FC/SEDA
Bailey Schmidt 7/03/2000 199 97 Dandenong Stingrays Seaford Senior FC
Bailey Williams 17/04/2000 198 95 Dandenong Stingrays Pines Senior FC/Westernport SC
Riley Bowman 25/02/2000 198 82 Dandenong Stingrays Crib Pt Senior FC
Samuel Walsh 2/07/2000 183 74 Geelong Falcons St. Josephs/St.Josephs
Edward McHenry 13/07/2000 176 71 Geelong Falcons Barwon Heads/Geelong College
Cooper Stephens 17/01/2001 187 70 Geelong Falcons Colac/Trinity College
Oscar Brownless 16/02/2000 186 76 Geelong Falcons Geelong Amateurs
Charlie Sprague 8/05/2000 187 79 Geelong Falcons Barwon Heads/Geelong College
Dane Hollenkamp 22/10/1999 200 83 Geelong Falcons Torquay
Blake Schlensog 25/09/2000 198 90 Geelong Falcons Grovedale
Connor Idun 29/07/2000 190 89 Geelong Falcons Drysdale/Christian College Geelong
Xavier Duursma 7/07/2000 185 71 Gippsland Power Foster/South Gippsland Secondary College
Irving Mosquito 24/08/2000 175 69 Gippsland Power Maffra/Gippsland Grammar Sale
Caleb Serong 9/02/2001 178 82 Gippsland Power Warragul/Geelong Grammar
Sam Flanders 24/07/2001 183 81 Gippsland Power Moe/Lowanna Secondary College
Kyle Reid 12/08/2000 193 85 Gippsland Power Leongatha/Wonthaggi Secondary College
Brock Smith 13/03/2001 188 78 Gippsland Power Moe/Lowanna Secondary College
Matthew McGannon 27/12/1999 184 73 Gippsland Power Fish Creek/Mary Mackillop Catholic College Leongatha
Thomas Berry 1/05/2000 185 76 GWV Rebels Horsham Saints / Ballarat Clarendon
Matty Lloyd 2/11/2000 185 77 GWV Rebels Horsham Demons / St Patricks College
Scott Carlin 17/01/2000 185 78 GWV Rebels Terang / St Patricks College
Laitham Vandermeer 3/02/1999 180 76 Murray Bushrangers Mooroopna
Lachlan Ash 21/06/2001 186 77 Murray Bushrangers Shepparton Bears / Notre Dame College
Mark Marriott 14/01/2000 202 89 Murray Bushrangers Benalla Saints / Goulburn Valley Grammar
Zane Barzen 29/10/2000 193 77 Murray Bushrangers Shepparton United / Notre Dame College
Hudson Garoni 25/08/2000 195 91 Murray Bushrangers Wodonga Bulldogs / Catholic College Wodonga

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *