Who is Clayton Oliver?

Uncompromising onballer Clayton Oliver has won the 2015 Morrish Medal, after a sensational second half in the TAC Cup.

Murray Bushrangers were eliminated on the weekend, going out in straight sets after their semi-final loss to Oakleigh Chargers, but not without Oliver’s best efforts.

While Oliver does not have the most silky skills or electrifying pace, what he does offer is uncompromising toughness and throws himself at every contest.

One needs to only look at his efforts on Sunday to see he is a man who hates to lose.

No-one enjoys losing, but Oliver just looks like a man who would burn every ounce of energy to get his side over the line.

After picking up just one vote in the first nine rounds of the season, Oliver collected a whopping 14 votes in the final nine rounds, including four best on grounds.

The late flurry saw him leapfrog Bound For Glory News Rising Stars medallist Jade Gresham from the Northern Knights and Eastern Ranges’ Darcy Crocker.

Oliver finished on 15 votes, one ahead of Gresham and Crocker, while Eastern duo Blake Hardwick and Ryan Clarke finished on 13 and 12 votes respectively.

In his 16 games, Oliver booted 20 goals, averaged 24.25 disposals per game at 70 per cent efficiency, while also averaging 4.5 marks and 5.9 tackles per game.

His season impressed enough recruiters to receive an invite to the National Draft Combine, where he his athletic and physical traits will be tested against the country’s best 17 and 18 year-olds.


15 – Clayton Oliver (Murray Bushrangers)    15
14 – Darcy Crocker (Eastern Ranges), Jade Gresham (Northern Knights)
13 – Blake Hardwick (Eastern Ranges)
12 – Ryan Clarke (Eastern Ranges)
10 – Aaron Fenton (Eastern Ranges), Aloysio Ferreira (Gippsland Power), Josh Schache (Murray Bushrangers)
9 – Lachlan Williams (Dandenong Stingrays), Jacob Hopper (North Ballarat Rebels), Kieran Lovell (Tasmania)
8 – Darcy Parish (Geelong Falcons), Nash Holmes (Gippsland Power), Thomas Papley (Gippsland Power), Yestin Eades (North Ballarat Rebels), Michael Ercolano (Northern Knights), Jackson Volpato (Western Jets)
7 – Harrison Kol (Geelong Falcons), Matthew Flynn (NSW/ACT), Dyson Budarick (Queensland), Theo Thompson (Sandringham Dragons)
6 – Josh Battle (Dandenong Stingrays), Brandon White (Dandenong Stingrays), Ben McCarthy (Geelong Falcons), Luke Smith (Murray Bushrangers), Nick Coughlan (Murray Bushrangers), Ryan Garthwaite (Murray Bushrangers), Karl Brown (Calder Cannons)
5 – Tom Cole (Bendigo Pioneers), Zac Wunhym (Calder Cannons), Charlie Curnow (Geelong Falcons), Rhys Mathieson (Geelong Falcons), Zachary Zdybel (Geelong Falcons), Billy Lloyd (North Ballarat Rebels), Harvey Hooper (Oakleigh Chargers), Corey Wagner (Queensland), Jack Wallace (Sandringham Dragons), Tom Wilkinson (Sandringham Dragons), Harrison Pearce (Tasmania), Mitch Norton (Western Jets), Jaycob Hickey (Western Jets)

In other awards, Northern Knights’ captain Jade Gresham won the Coaches Award, Eastern Ranges’ Blake Hardwick won the Leading Goalkicker award, while North Ballarat Rebels won the TAC Award for the best road safety awareness video.


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *