TAC Cup wrap: Round four country round

round 2 tac cup

Geelong Falcons 8.9 (57)
Gippsland Power 7.14 (56)

Goals Geelong: L. Wagener (2), B. Remmos (2), C. Farrell, J. McLachlan, N. Connors, H. Kershaw.

Goals Gippsland: C. Stockdale (2), H. McKay( 2), B. Olsson, T. Papley, M. De Bruin.

Geelong Best: B. Remmos, J.Sheahan, S. Darcy, L. Donne, N. Connors.

Gippsland Best: A. Ferreira, D. Costigan, B. Dessent, C. Buykx-Smith.

Kicking off the first of three matches played at Bendigo’s Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Geelong Falcons played host to the Gippsland Power in what promised to be an intriguing battle.

Goals were hard to come by for both sides from the opening bounce on a day where conditions for football could not get much better. Countless stoppages and repeat turnovers lead to a low scoring first half of a combined six goals as the scores as the scores were locked at 22 a piece at the half time interval.

As the match continued, Geelong’s Jamieson Sheahan racked up possession after possession on his way to a solid 22 disposal effort while two goals from Cory Stockdale gave the Power a nine-point lead, their biggest of the match and plenty of confidence for the run home to the final siren.

Unfortunately for Gippsland, the Power forwards were their own worst enemy with multiple missed opportunities in front of goal kicking 4.10 in the second half. This allowed The Falcons to hang on to a crucial one-point victory.

ANZAC Day action in round five of the TAC Cup will see the Geelong Falcons host the Bendigo Pioneers at Avalon Airport Oval from midday, while the Gippsland Power will be keen to get back on the winners list when they host the Northern Knights at Morwell from 1.00pm.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5 – Baden Remmos (Geelong Falcons)
4 – Jamieson Sheahan (Geelong Falcons)
3 – Darnell Grech (Gippsland Power)
2 – Nicholas Connors (Geelong Falcons)
1 – Ben Dessent (Gippsland Power)

North Ballarat Rebels 13.13 (91)
Murray Bushrangers 10.13 (73)

North Ballarat goals: E. Frank (4), N. Hausler (2), T. Templeton, L. Meek, M. Johnston, C. Wellings, J. Symons, T. Taurau, C. Lee.

Murray goals: J. Simpkin (2), J. Minogue (2), A. Tattersall, M. Waite, J. Marshall, L. Tiziani, M. Canfield, L. Middleton.

North Ballarat best: T. Templeton, L. Meek, E.Frank.

Murray best: W. Brodie, R. Garthwaite, J. Battista, L.Tiziani

North Ballarat locked horns with the Murray Bushrangers in the second game of the Queen Elizabeth Oval triple header on Saturday afternoon. With both teams in good form, the match was an exciting encounter from the opening bounce.

It was clear early on that the game would be won or lost in the midfield as an intense low scoring opening quarter saw North Ballarat take a three point lead into the first break before the contest broke open in the second half. Some impressive work around the stoppages from the North Ballarat on-baller’s gave the Rebels a handy three goal buffer at the main change.

The Bushranger’s leading possession getter William Brodie helped spark the away team into action on his way to 29 disposals for the match. Both teams traded goals until a controversial play-on from a marking contest from North Ballarat’s Nicholas Hausler provided the Rebels with enough breathing space to cruise to an 18-point victory and claim a spot in the top four.

North Ballarat’s Thomas Templeton was again impressive in a Best on Ground performance while Lachlan Tiziani was gallant in defeat collecting 24 disposals and one goal for the Bushrangers.

Round five sees North Ballarat take on the Calder Cannons while The Bushrangers return home to face The Oakleigh Chargers on ANZAC day.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5 – Tom Templeton (North Ballarat Rebels)
4 – Will Brodie (Murray Bushrangers)
3 – Ezeikiel Frank (North Ballarat Rebels)
2 – Lloyd Meek (North Ballarat Rebels)
1 – Lachlan Tiziani (Murray Bushrangers)

Bendigo Pioneers 8.8 (56)
Dandenong Stingrays 15.15 (105)

Bendigo goals: J. Ryan (4), J. Harvey, M. Trait, J. White, S. Simmons.
Dandenong goals: J. Battle (5), D. Warke (4), L. Myatt (2), J. Freeman, Z. Roscoe, L. Dalmau, L. Williams.
Bendigo best: L. Tardrew, J. Burke, M. Hore, S. Simmons, J. White
Dandenong best: J. Battle, D. Warke, B. White, K. Mutimer, B. Rice, L. Myatt

Bendigo Pioneers have not had the greatest start to the season, but according to coach Brett Henderson, they showed more promising signs on the weekend. Unfortunately for them, they still went down by 49 points at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Both sides were missing their AIS players, which meant onlookers had the opportunity to see the next best stars strut their stuff.

Darcy Warke and Josh Battle booted nine goals between them and looked impressive, while Lachlan Tardrew had 25 disposals, five marks and seven tackles as the clear best for the Pioneers.

St Kilda and Carlton potential father/son Bailey Rice also had a good day out with 23 disposals, three marks and three tackles for the Stingrays.

Both sides will have players competing at the Vic Country trials on the weekend, before the Pioneers are hosted by Geelong Falcons on Anzac Day and the Stingrays trek to Queensland in the first clash against a Division 2 side.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5 – Darcy Warke (Dandenong Stingrays)
4 – Lachlan Tardrew (Bendigo Pioneers)
3 – Kurt Mutimer (Dandenong Stingrays)
2 – Josh Battle (Dandenong Stingrays)
1 – Bailey Rice (Dandenong Stingrays)

Sandringham Dragons 9.17 (71)
Oakleigh Chargers 7.10 52

Sandringham goals: H.Johnson (3), A. Sakeson (2), C.Larkin, T.Roos, H.Brayshaw, J.Briggs.
Oakleigh goals: X.Morgan (2), M.Wenn, D.Johnstone, J.Corboy, M.Griechen, C.Lane.
Sandringham best: T.Roos, T.Wilkinson, K.Lopo, T.Garner, R.Iudica
Oakleigh best: C.Lane, J.Aujard, M.Jackson, H.Hooper, J.Corboy

The Sandringham Dragons stole an expected win from the Oakleigh Chargers on Sunday, with their 19-point victory. As well as their wayward kicking, this match had the potential to have been an even more devastating win by the Dragons if they were able to maintain the composure they had in their defensive 50 when they went forward.

What was a well fought battle between the two sides seemed plagued at both ends by great play off half back, that fizzled out as soon as the ball got to half forward. After trailing at quarter time, Sandy rectified their kicks inside 50 with a 31-point burst leaving Oakleigh behind them by 21 at half time.This held the Dragons in good stead for the rest of the game, enough to fight off an Oakleigh fourth quarter serge led by Campbell Lane whose first minute goal in the final quarter brought the away side within three points, however the Dragons stamped their authority on the game running out winners by 19 points.

Both sides had notable outs with a Vic Metro trial game and the AFL Academy match from the day before meant that both teams’ 19 year-olds shone out from the two sides.

Solid games by Robert Iudica and Tyler Roos off half back set up Tom Wilkinson’s run in the middle of the ground, which was well supported by Kurt Lopo’s pressure in the forward 50 for the Dragons. Despite stellar efforts from Campbell Lane and Jono Aujard , the Chargers struggled to convert pressure off half back into half forward pressure, with a lack of communication around forward 50 stoppages seeming to be the cause of it.

TAC Cup takes a break for a week before returning on ANZAC Day weekend, with the Sandringham Dragons taking on Eastern Rangers and the Oakleigh Chargers play Murray Bushrangers

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5 – Campbell Lane (Oakleigh Chargers)
4 – Tyler Roos (Sandringham Dragons)
3 – Tom Wilkinson (Sandringham Dragons)
2 – Jono Aujard (Oakleigh Chargers)
1 – Kurt Lopo (Sandringham Dragons)



Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *